Marketing and branding in today’s new economy

by Tony Fannin, President, BE Branded

There is much discussion in the advertising industry about how to market in the so-called “Google economy”. Some say that old-school tactics are dead (insert TV, radio, print, here) or soon will be. There are many who believe that all you need is Google Adwords and SEO and you can take your brand straight to the top in no time. By relying on Twitter, Facebook, and Blogger, you can let others do the work for you in spreading your “brand gospel” around.

As for me, I’ve never believed in the silver bullet concept. That includes old-school, new-school, or even the Google economy. I believe that leveraging tools and the social network that are online to spread your brand is a great thing. I also believe that TV, radio, and print are able to present your brand equally well. Why only utilize only half your advertising arsenal when you have a range of options to utilize?

I’m a marketer. I’m a creative. At my core, I’m a problem-solver. The real question is HOW do you leverage the advertising tools that are available? I know that many say you should let the social network tell you what your brand is and what your key messages should be. I believe if you do that, you’re passing up on a powerful asset – being creative. It’s not the tools, it’s how creative you use them. Great creative takes the physical function of the media (print, video, online chat, etc.) and finds creative ways to utilize the media vehicle. This, in turn, makes your brand fresh, unique, and relevant to your customers.

I don’t have all the answers. I’m still discovering new ways to blend a TV spot with a print ad in a niche mag with a YouTube video with an impromptu party invite on Twitter for a client event. I don’t know half the things I want to and that’s what makes my job so exciting. 

If you’d like to offer your experiences, please share them with me. Or if you have questions yourself, let me know that too. Maybe, together, we’ll both learn something new.

www.BeBranded.net
317-797-7226 

 

I’m the president of BE Branded, an integrated marketing and design firm that helps clients Be Somebody to their customers. BE Branded’s research shows that if businesses don’t connect with their audience in a real, emotional way, they risk becoming a commodity. Contact us if you would like to talk about whether you would like to Be Somebody or be a commodity.

About Be Branded

Tony Fannin is of President of BE Branded, an integrated marketing firm who helps clients BE Somebody to their customers. If you aren't somebody, then you are commodity.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

